FOIAXpress Users Group Conference Recap


Aaron Graves with Moe Goswami (CEO) and Quyen LeThis year marked the ninth annual FOIAXpress Users Group Conference, held Thursday, August 21, 2014 at the Renaissance Hotel in Washington D.C. The event brought together more than 200 FOIA workers and their managers from across 50 federal government departments and agencies to learn how to use the FOIAXpress system more efficiently, stay up to date on changes in new versions, and interact with their FOIA colleagues from various agencies.

Our attendees have found this conference to be a highly valuable opportunity to understand what will be new in the upcoming new version release of the software, ask questions about the system from our experienced staff, and discuss FOIA processing with their colleagues at our popular “community” sessions. Look for more information on the 2014 conference coming soon.

AINS would like to recognize our FOIAXpress 2014 Wayne R. Jewell Customer Appreciation Award recipient, Aaron Graves of the U.S. Department of Defense Freedom of Information Division. Congratulations Aaron! At AINS, we are firm believers that our customers are what drive our products and our success.

This year AINS had the honor of hosting Ms. Traci Hughes as keynote speaker for the FOIAXpress Users Group Conference. Ms. Hughes is the inaugural director of D.C’s Office of Open Government. In her role as the Director of the OOG, Hughes acts as FOIA compliance office for the District’s nearly 60 agencies. In her keynote address, Hughes speaks to the need for governments to break from a linear way of thinking about citizen engagement. She suggests that as citizens come to expect a 24/7 access to information, government must adapt to a more interactive way of thinking about transparency.

Traci Hughes began her career in the private sector in television, print, and radio as a strategic communication professional. She has appeared on major national and local television networks including ABC, CBS, NBC, and Fox News. She is a graduate of Howard University and Temple University Beasley School of Law. She is also a member of the D.C. and Maryland State Bar Association.